BRA History

In 1957 the BRA was established by the Boston City Council and the Massachusetts Legislature. Its statutory authority was set forth in the Massachusetts General Laws chapter 121B, section 4. At that time the agency began overseeing development that was previously led by the Boston Housing Authority and its oversight was expanded to include development beyond public housing. 

The agency's redevelopment stewardship includes the jurisdiction to buy and sell property, acquire property through eminent domain, and grant tax concession to encourage commercial and residential development under Massachusetts General Laws chapter 121A.

In 1960 by another act of the Massachusetts Legislature set forth in the Massachusetts General Laws chapter 652, section 12, the City Planning Board was merged with the BRA. 

EDIC History

The Economic Development and Industrial Corporation (EDIC) was established by the Massachusetts Legislature and set forth in Chapter 1097 of the Acts of 1971. The EDIC is a quasi-public entity that leads local economic development activities at industrial and manufacturing properties in Boston, including the Raymond L. Flynn Marine Park (formerly known as the Boston Marine Industrial Park) and Charlestown Navy Yard, in accordance with an economic development plan. The work is designed to increase employment, eliminate decadent and blighted open areas, attract new industry, expand existing industry, and to create jobs and business opportunity.

1993 Merger of BRA and EDIC

The Boston Redevelopment Authority (BRA) and the Economic Development and Industrial Corporation (EDIC) were merged into a single citywide development agency by Mayor Thomas M. Menino in 1993. They continue to maintain their separate functions as established by the Massachusetts Legislature. 

Past Board Members of the BRA
Name Appointed Ended
James G. Colbert 1957 1980
Monsignor Francis J. Lally 1957 1970
Joseph W. Lund 1957 1961
Melvin J. Massucco 1957 1970
Stephen J. McCloskey 1957 1978
John P. Ryan 1961 1964
George P. Condakes 1964 1969
Patrick J. Bocanfuso 1968 1973
Robert L. Farrell 1969 1989
Paul J. Burns 1970 1975
Joseph J. Walsh 1970 1989
James K. Flaherty 1973 1994
James E. Cofield, Jr. 1976 1980
William McDermott, Jr. 1980 1985
Clarence Jeep. Jones 1981 2013
Michael F. Donlan 1985 1995
Francis X. O’Brien 1989 1993
Consuelo Gonzales Thornell 1989 2015
Joseph W. Nigro, Jr. 1994 2006
Michael Taylor 1994 2006
John M. Moscardelli 1995 2000
Christopher J. Supple 2000 2011
Paul D. Foster 2006 2015
James M. Coyle 2007 2013
Timothy J. Burke 2011 2019
Carol Downs 2015 2022
Michael Monahan 2013 Present
Dr. Theodore Landsmark 2014 Present
Priscilla Rojas 2015 Present
Brian Miller 2020 Present
Directors of the BRA
Name Appointed Ended
Kane Simonian 1957 10/20/1960
Edward J. Logue 10/20/1960 8/4/1967
Francis X. Cuddy 8/4/1967 1/15/1968
C. Hale Champion 1/15/1968 8/31/1969
John D. Warner 9/1/1969 1/6/1971
Robert T. Kenney 1/25/1971 1/1/1977
Robert F. Walsh 1/1/1977 7/21/1978
Robert J. Ryan 9/1/1978 7/16/1984
Stephen Coyle 7/16/1984 1/23/1992
Theodore S. Chandler* 1/24/1992 8/23/1992
Paul L. Barrett 8/24/1992 2/1/1994
Paul L. McCann* 2/4/1994 2/27/1994
Marisa Lago 2/28/1994 1/2/1997
Paul L. McCann* 12/19/1996 3/26/1997
Thomas N. O’Brien 3/27/1997 10/14/1999
Paul L. McCann* 10/15/1999 2/21/2000
Mark Maloney 2/22/2000 1/12/2007
Paul L. McCann* 1/12/2007 11/12/2007
John F. Palmieri 11/12/2007 5/1/2011
Peter Meade 5/9/2011 1/6/2014
Brian P. Golden 1/6/2014 5/2/2022
Teresa Polhemus* 5/2/2022 5/23/2022
James Arthur Jemison II
(Chief of Planning and Director of the BPDA)
5/23/2022 Present
*Acting Director